top of page

Don't be a chicken, cook this

Confession: I have not written in my blog for nearly two years now. I have been updating my reels and realized that I have not been updating my website (or blog) since moving to Charleston! This is all changing people- new posts are coming your way! I will stick to most relating to meals for four for under $25, however I plan on venturing into other food-related fields, as well. Did you know Charleston is one of the hottest food spots in the country? The food here is INSANE! I am going to start documenting trips to restaurants in the area- let me know if you have any recommendations: SydneyRyanNews@gmail.com

Going back to why you are all here- this recipe is SURE to be a hit with your audience- LEMON, ROSEMARY, GARLIC BAKED CHICKEN. You heard me right. It's real. It happened. It's delicious. PS: fresh broccoli and a roasted sweet potato for your sides,

Follow my steps to get this awesome, affordable meal! For purchases for this post, I went to Harris Teeter.

Ingredients:

2.5 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast ($12.48), 1 clove garlic ($0.59), 1 lemon ($0.79), 1 bunch fresh rosemary ($2.49), 4 sweet potatoes ($3.56), 3 fresh broccoli crowns ($3.45)

**Home Necessities: olive oil, salt, pepper, tinfoil, meat thermometer.

Instructions:

1. Rub chicken breasts with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Mince garlic and rosemary, slice lemon. Place on top of chicken in bowl. Cover and let marinate in the fridge for at least one hour.

2. When you're ready to cook, preheat oven to 400.

3. Spray pan with cooking spray (I used a glass 13x9 pan)

4. Pierce sweet potatoes with fork multiple times. Wrap sweet potatoes in tinfoil. Put in oven and start a 45 minute timer.

5. When the sweet potato timer hits 25 minutes, put the chicken and marinade in glass pan and place in the oven on the middle rack. Cook all items for the remainder of timer (chicken is done when the center reaches 165 degrees, no pink in sight)

6. While chicken and potatoes are in the oven, bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add a splash of salt to the water. While waiting, chop up broccoli heads.

7. Add broccoli heads to boiling water. Cook for about 5 minutes, then drain water.

8. If you follow directions, all the food should be ready at the same time! Serve and ENJOY!

-tip: I usually serve the sweet potato and broccoli with salt and pepper as an option on the side!

FULL MEAL TOTAL: $23.36

*before taxes, not including home necessity ingredients/items.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Pinterest Basic Black
bottom of page