top of page

I ain't got no probs, I got kabobs.

My food blogging will continue and I've decided to pin down a theme. From now on, my blog posts will be "Affordable Gourmet." A lot of people crave the big, beautiful meals but they don't think they can afford them. Well, today is your lucky day. If you're ballin' on a budget, I now have full meals that serve four, all for under $25 total. I shop at Sprouts Famers Market and will base my prices there. Every Sunday (and perhaps a few additional days, as well) I am serving up family dinners. Yes, my blood relatives are all up north, but my Texas family will be my scapegoats.

Blog post #1: I ain't got no probs, I got kabobs. I was sifting through Pinterest posts and came across this honey-glazed chicken kabob that made my mouth water. Boom! Lightbulb went off. Let's do a kabob-themed family dinner!

Appetizer: Caprese Kabobs

Ingredients: Mini mozzarella balls ($4.99), Basil ($1.99), Cherry Tomatoes ($1.50)

**Home necessities: olive oil, red wine vinegar, salt, pepper, toothpicks.

Instructions:

1. Put one cherry tomato, one basil leaf and one mozzarella ball (in that order) through the toothpick.

2. Once all kabobs are complete, lightly drizzle with olive oil.

3. Lightly drizzle with vinegar.

4. Salt and pepper to taste.

5. Cover and refrigerate until ready to serve!

Entrée: Asian Zing Kabobs

Ingredients: 2lb Chicken ($4.99), Pineapple ($1.99), 2 Red Bell Peppers ($1.96), 1 Red Onion ($0.99), Basil (leftover from appetizer).

**Home necessities: salt, pepper, soy sauce, teriyaki sauce, Cholula hot sauce, Sriracha, skewers, zip-lock bag.

Instructions:

1. Cut raw chicken into kabob-sized pieces and add to a resealable bag.

2, Pour soysauce, teriyaki sauce, Cholula and Sriracha into bag. I don't measure these types of ingredients out, I add according to how sweet or spicy I want the marinade. Seal and put into fridge for at least an hour.

3. Chop up peppers, pineapple and onions into kabob-sized pieces. Set aside.

4. Once the marinading chicken is ready, start up the grill.

5. Skewer up your ingredients and drizzle remaining marinade from bag onto kabobs.

6. Cook kabobs on grill for 6-8 minutes on each side, or until there's a nice, light char.

7. Serve warm!

Dessert: Chocolate Drizzle Shortcake Kabobs

Ingredients: Angel Food Cake ($1.99), Strawberries ($1.50), Blueberries ($0.99), Semi-sweet Chocolate Chips ($1.00)

**Home necessities: skewers, zip-lock bag.

Instructions:

1. Cut angel food cake into kabob-sized pieces.

2. Skewer up cake, strawberries and blueberries (I like to make them all identical with a pattern).

3. Put chocolate chips into microwave-safe bowl and heat for 30-second intervals, stirring in between, until melted. Pour melted chocolate into a zip-lock bag.

4. Drizzle chocolate over skewers.

5. Cover and refrigerate until ready to eat!

FULL MEAL TOTAL: $23.89

*before taxes, not including home necessity ingredients/items.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Pinterest Basic Black
bottom of page